Anyone Tried using HTM to model blood sugar in diabetics?

Hello.

I hope I’m posting to the correct topic. – My apologies, if not.

I’m visiting my elderly Father who’s had a bout with pneumonia. He’s diabetic and I’ve been helping him with his medications while he gets back on his feet.

As a diabetic, his body doesn’t produce enough insulin to process the carbohydrates in his diet without artificial insulin injections. If the insulin we give him is too little, his blood sugar can get dangerously high. If we give him too much, the level can also drop to dangerously low levels…

As a chemist by training and a software engineer as a career, I’m looking at Dad as a process control problem where we’re trying to dial in the concentration of blood sugars in his bloodstream. – He gave me a funny look when I told him that I’m modeling him as a vat of chemicals…

As process control problem, he’s a pretty high-dimensional one…

I’m not a medical professional, but my surfing the diabetes sites and experience of the last week or show that the following are some (but not all) of the parameters that change with time and influence his blood sugar concentrations:

• Carbohydrate intake (food)
  • Insulin dosage
  • Insulin type (some formulations have quick and slow acting components)
  • Physical activity
  • Time of day

I can’t help but wonder if something like the Hot Gym example might serve as a starting point to try and develop a predictive model we could use to ‘tune in’ a desired blood sugar reading…

If he really were a vat of chemicals, I’d probably start with something like a PID control algorithm to dynamically adjust insulin dosage throughout the day. These require a pretty dense sampling interval for rapidly changing systems and I think Dad would draw the line at my sticking him every 20 minutes!

I have a friend who’s a software engineer and diabetic. He said something funny in a recent email exchange: