What areas of mathematics are useful in the study of HTM theory?

I’ll be finishing an undergraduate course in mathematics within the next year, and I’d like to know from working researchers or other enthusiasts which areas of mathematics are useful in the study of HTM theory. (This might be either just for self-study or possibly for choosing a focus area in a future master’s program.)

I’d appreciate any input. Thank you.

1 Like

As someone who knows the basics of HTM theory, at least in terms of how the SP and TM algorithms work, I can say with some confidence that there’s not a high math requirement to learn and apply HTM theory. Of the usual undergrad classes Linear Algebra is always useful to know, but one not as common thats very relevant and interesting is Graph Theory. Graph theory is math oriented toward networks. I’m not an expert in this either, I just know that when I took Network Science class in my Systems Science MS program I discovered the subject of my interest in math and computing. I’m now a Ph.D student at the same school applying HTM to my thesis project with NuPIC. I don’t want to ramble too much but I’m glad to adviser/discuss it more If you’d like. I’m at: sheiser1@binghamton.edu

3 Likes

Linear algebra. If you understand this, you win: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson–Lindenstrauss_lemma

sheiser1: I’d imagined that, as you said, there isn’t much of a math requirement in order to understand and apply the theory, but I wondered if the people with somewhat more background in mathematics thought that there were any areas of study that could provide further insight. Thank you for your reply, especially with regards to graph theory - I’ll look into it.