Can you use just 1 segment per cell in temporal memory?

Hey everyone, I’m a grad student working on HTM designing my own slightly augmented system with a design question I wanted to pose to all you experts and theorists out there:
Would it be viable to design each cell to have just 1 distal segment? My idea is to create new cells with single segments, rather than creating additional segments on existing cells. I know that having multiple segments on each cell allows the cells to participate in multiple patterns, and therefore makes maximal use of each cell. It does however introduce the possibility (unlikely as it may be) that the cell will become predictive thinking that a certain sequence it plays a role in is occurring when it actually isn’t, due to one of its many segments becoming active. The practice of creating multiple segments on each cell also introduces the parameter of how many segments can be created on a cell.
The concept behind the alternative scheme I’m proposing, of creating new cells with single segments rather than building new segments onto a fixed number of cells, also allows the number of cells to be adaptive to the data. So rather than declaring that there will be 32 (or however many) cells in this column, that number could be growing as demanded by the diversity of patterns in the data. It seems that this would get rid of the need for the parameters ‘cells per column’ and ‘maximum segments per cell’, while creating a unique number of cells in the layer for each unique data set it sees.
So to wrap this up, do you guys think this is viable? Is there any core functionality that I’d lose by setting it up this way? I’m very curious for anyone’s thoughts on this! Thanks

1 Like