Does the brain memorize or not - proof?

Hi there, I’ve got a question probably related to Neuroscience/Biology or just simply a philosophical one. I’m not an expert in either of these fields including HTM so please bear with me.

Here’s my question, is there any kind (biological/math) evidence/proof/theory that the brain is not memorizing given its capability of storing data (the enormous amount of neural connections and their continuous values and their combinations)?

By memorizing I meant, storing patterns encoded using an advanced (probably unknown) algorithm and that at a later time they are retrieved back using an advanced (probably unknown) and fast operation.

cheers

I don’t have a problem in the world assuming that the cortex is an extreme learning machine.

It may come as a surprise to you but HTM does much of the memory functions you call out as advanced - right now - without waiting for some future technology.

You have to put it in the correct relationship with the sub-cortical structures; these lead the cortex around like a tame puppy. That relationship points the cortex at the right attention points to make scanning and scene digestion to occur. The emotional weighting of the scanning drives decision - arguably another learned behavior.

But yes, an extreme learning machine.

Oh - and we have some pretty interesting one-shot learning and hierarchical processing models floating around this forum. HTM is a good place to start.

Hi @Bitking thank you for your response. My background is in computer science so I didn’t quite understand the third paragraph from your reply. Could you please elaborate more on extreme learning machine? Am I correct to assume that you somehow agree that the brain is memorizing?