Flink Anomaly Detection

Hi,

I am relatively to new to HTM.java. we are working on a project where we need to monitor the server logs in real time. We are using Apache Flink for streaming. If there is any sudden spike in the number of transactions(Unusual), server errors, we need to create an alert.(Anomaly)

1. How can we best achieve this using HTM.java? Can we implement the use case using HTM.java?
  2. How do we consider the historical information about the patterns observed
    and will HTM compute the baseline accordingly?

Any sample code is much appreciated.

Thanks.

1 Like

Hi @harshith99,

Welcome, and thanks for using HTM.java. I believe this should be an easy use case for HTM.java, but first let me preface my comments with a disclaimer… :slight_smile: I am one of the authors of HTM.java but I have little to no experience actually putting HTMs to use and have no Data Science background with which to authoritatively say how to best use HTMs for analyzing Anomalies in real-life applications. So instead I’ll list the people who would best speak to the different areas your use case overlaps.

1. HTM.java sample code and usage - me and a few other developers.
  2. Details about configuration settings: @rhyolight (Matt Taylor, Flagbearer and Open Source Director for Numenta).
  3. Details about the application of HTMs to Anomaly Detection: @rhyolight, @mrcslws, lscheinkman, subutai
  4. Details about Flink with HTM.java: @EronWright - also have a look at this project: flink-htm.
  5. Meaning of Life: jhawkins :slight_smile:

HTM.java was created to be equal in all algorithmic ways to NuPIC and only differs in some of the implementation details but yields exactly the same output (with the version it is aligned with, time-wise). There are some minor differences at this time that don’t really have much of an impact on output quality because I have not had the time to update it to transpose a couple of very minor updates from NuPIC.

That being said…