How can I decide which variables to be fed to HTM model for anomaly detection?

I’m new to HTM and I want to use it for anomaly detection to decide for a preventive maintenance.

I think that I have the basic understanding of the model but still can’t tell what technique should I use to chose the right variables to be fed to the model

1 Like

How many variables are you considering? Its generally advised not to have more than 4 or 5 in a single model, and sometimes best to have a separate model for each one. There is a process for this called swarming which is a guided search for optimal parameter values, including which variables contribute to better predictions. Here’s a link to the docs on it:

http://nupic.docs.numenta.org/1.0.0/guides/swarming/running.html

1 Like

Thank you @sheiser1 for your fast reply.

Actually, I don’t have the data yet as I’m proposing HTM for anomaly detection as a solution for incident prediction problem, but I’m assuming the number variables will be much greater than 4 or 5.

But now I have two questions

First, what if the variables for some reason, each one separately (in a single model) won’t predict an anomaly (in any of the models) and in a multivariant model it would predict an anomaly?

Second, if I had a single model for each variable how would I combine the result of each model to have only one score for anomaly?

2 Likes