How can I encode the relations between two entities?

Hi,
I want to use the HTM.JAVA framework to predict what will happen the next step based on the sequence of behaviors, the sequence consists of different behaviors in a time order, such as : A->B->C->A->D…
how can I encode the relations between the behaivors, I have two types of encoding strategies:

1. decompse the sequence into tuples such as A->B, B->C, C->A…and encode the tuple as a SDR;
  2. encode each separate behavior as a SDR, and the whole sequence is converted to a sequence of SDRs.
    I want to know, which will be better for the prediction accuracy?
    If I use the first strategy, how can I encode the relation into a SDR?
    thanks

I have no practical experience but I think the second one is how you’re supposed to do it.
Just make sure to encode to represent semantic information properly.
(i.e. behaviors with a common feature should have some common bits on)

1 Like

So the entities you’re trying to compare are temporal sequences, not spatial patterns?

Infact, I am not sure about the spatial patterns, I want to model the cyber attacking steps triggered by specified attacker, the sequence is sort of the steps that left by attacker when they infiltrating the networks. So, I want HTM can learn the sequence and forcast the next step attacker mostly do.
but I am not very sure how to define the sematics between the steps, the steps are the evidence of the attacking strategy. I don’t know what is the better way to encode the sequence to leverage the abilities of the HTM in the pattern learning and prediction.
please give me the advices, thank you very much!~~