How to approach anomaly detection in htm.core with multivariate data

Hi all,
I’m new to HTM and would like to ask for your advice on anomaly detection in multivariate data
The data looks like the following

timestamp, category, value

03/04/21 07:10, CAT1, 5
03/04/21 07:10, CAT2, 2
03/04/21 07:10, CAT3, 3
03/04/21 07:10, CAT4, 7
03/04/21 07:10, CAT5, 1
03/04/21 07:15, CAT1, 9
03/04/21 07:15, CAT2, 3
03/04/21 07:15, CAT3, 4
03/04/21 07:15, CAT4, 2
03/04/21 07:15, CAT5, 6
03/04/21 07:20, CAT1, 2
03/04/21 07:20, CAT2, 21
03/04/21 07:20, CAT3, 44
03/04/21 07:20, CAT4, 4
03/04/21 07:20, CAT5, 12

I played with hotgym example using htm.core (python 3.7) and applied it for a single category anomaly detection (using only timestamp and value columns of a chosen category).
Now, I’m having difficulty understanding how I can apply that example with multiple categories.

I have a few days of data with 1-minute interval of over 1000 categories which amounts to over 5 million records in the above format. The categories are not fixed in number as new categories may appear as time progresses.

My usecase is, I have to find anomalies in each category and also if any of the categories is deviating from the rest.

Can anyone guide me (preferably with a sample or settings) for multivariate data in htm.core and how should I structure my data?

Thanks for any guidance.

1 Like

Hey @SHA2, welcome!

For this purpose I’d make separate models for each category. I’d look for more anomalous activity in each model as peak times of the anomaly likelihood. The anomaly likelihood uses a sliding window of recent anomaly scores – so could not work for some categories if they have much smaller data than others. In these cases I’d use raw anomaly scores. One nice benefit of this approach is you could remove the CAT column from each model’s data, since each model is a single CAT.