I implememted a dense Spatial Pooling layer

Hello all
I’m new to HTM. I saw Siraj’s new video explaining how HTM works this morning. After finding some resources detailing how HTM works. It seems that HTM has trouble a dealing with dense data (HTM uses SDR).
So I wrote a special fully-connected layer that reserves dense data as input (ordinary tensors used in deep learning) and trains(and operate) itself the same way a Spatial Pooling layer in HTM does. - By comparing inputs to it’s weights and updating weights by looking at the activation state of each input.

To test if my layer works. I connected my layer to a fully-connected layer to produce a classifier(the FC layer is trained using backprpoergation). I can get my classier to classify MNIST digits correctly around 40% after traning.

Is this idea of doing HTM using dense data worth anything? Do anyone has any idea on how could I improve my design?

Here is the code. It is implemented using my own deep learning library. (available here)

1 Like

Hi Marty! Thanks for joining our community. You have some misconceptions about HTM. I’ll try to direct you to some resources that can help you understand better.

SDRs are very important. HTM is a theory of intelligence in the brain. SDRs represent neuronal connectivity, and this activity is sparse in the brain. The sparsity is important. For more info, see this video.

We are operating in very high dimensional spaces. When representations are sparse, the are easier to compare with each other to derive similarity. Sparsity is a requirement of intelligence, as we understand it in the brain. Making it dense will break everything.

Honestly, I don’t think it will work at all. I think density breaks HTM. But I’ve been wrong before. :wink:

Anyway thanks for the work you put into this (although the gist you gave is broken).

I’ve watched all tutorials from HTM School.