Is the topology in HTM similar to the convolution in CNN(Convolutional Neural Network)?

I am studying the HTM course.
What if we use a topological HTM region to classify pictures? How is the effect? Is there any experiment?

1 Like

Keep watching. You’re going to need motion (saccades) in order to explore pictures. There are some posts on the forum related to “nupic vision” you might want to search.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply. Your HTM course is great!

2 Likes

There is much more to vision than most starting researchers usually consider; the brain is assembling tiny little snapshots of the visual field into the thing we think of as perception. Keep in mind that all these little pictures are registered in the exact same place in the visual cortex, sequentially.
Here is a little post to help you think about biologically plausible vision:

3 Likes

Definitely. Achieving similar functions in the visual cortex is a big challenge.
I think the feature-integration theory coincides with the hierarchical theory of HTM.
feature extraction and pattern recognition of images is a problem that must be solved.

The “pointing” functions of the motor portions of the cortical and sub-cortical structures (such as the frontal eye fields) are paired with the feature snap-shots as the location/displacement functions. This is a form of tagging that combines locations with features as is commonly described in the classic HTM theory.

In some ways this opens the door to the same explanatory theory that is used in “ordinary” convolution networks.

Good knowledge.
Is there a neural network that has been implemented that can combine learned features without re-learning?
For example, a well-trained network to recognize knives and scissors, no need to learn knives and scissors again when learning Swiss army knife.

First of all nice handle @OhMyHTM, I’m diggin it. Also to your question on

this idea sounds to me like “transfer learning” in mainstream DNN/CNN’s.