Minimum size of timeseries data for anomaly detection (noob here)

Hi, community!

Today is the second day I’m learning about HTM, I went through HTM School series (thank you, Matt!), played with hot gym tutorial.
I got a little bit impatient (too excited) and decided to ask my questions here (I did search this forum, though).

1. What is the minimum amount of streaming data? That is, I have a year’s data aggregated by weeks, and I wonder, is 52 data points enough for anomaly detection?
  2. How do I combine multiple metrics? I have this kind of structure: week1: { “qty”: 12, “kg”: 14, “…”:"…" etc }, week2: { “qty”: 14, “kg”: 13, “…”:"…" etc }. I would be happy to get any pointers.
  3. How do I tweak model parameters for this kind of setup?

Can’t wait to get my hands dirty with real-world data!!!

Thank you!

That’s not much data, but it depends. If you have a monthly pattern, you could see it emerge in 52 points (4 points per pattern).

First, ask yourself what you’re trying to accomplish? What is the question you want to answer? Do you want to predict something or identify anomalies?

I’m working on churned telco subscribers (postmortem) analysis and I only have weekly data right now. I’ll let you know about my results.
What I’m trying to achieve is to find out what kind of anomaly might contribute to churn. May be we did something wrong, like having a massive outage of SMS service in some region etc.

I would be happy to monitor all of our subscribers real-time (a couple of millions of subscribers) and react to anomalies right away. I find this bottom-up approach more reasonable, because when we look at a batch level, we oversee local problems, but if we see the same kind of anomaly detected among a group of subscribers, we can say that something went wrong in that section.
Sounds scary, but hey, only traffic activity would be monitored (number of onnet, outbound minutes, data traffic megabytes etc).
Is it feasible at all (monitoring 2 mln subs)?