Performing Nonlinear Transformations automatically

tdlr

Given only a map of (nd) point-to-point conversions, and assuming a non-linear transformation, how do I infer the conversion point of a new point?

intro

I know this probably isn’t the best forum to discuss a math question like the one I have but my question, I believe, touches on the foundations of intelligence.

Intelligence is a process whereby a transformation of data from one space to another is learned. The fundamentals of how to do that are what I’d like to discuss and what I’d like to learn more about.

Also, keep in mind I have no background in math. I don’t speak it. This will be quickly apparent, I have to conceptualize everything with images. Talk to me like you would a highschooler… or small child.

problem

Imagine I have some data points A, B, C, X on a 2d graph like this:

And each of the points (except X) gets transformed to a new set of points like so:

(5, 2) -> (2, -3)
(2, -3) -> (-3, 6)
(-3, 6) -> (6, 5)
(5, -7) -> (?, ?)

To visualize the transformation, it kind of rotates a bit and stretches out a little:

So it goes from this to this:

The question is, where should X be placed in this new space?

There are actually at least a couple of answers to this question given various assumptions, I think. Firstly, you could assume a linear transformation, in my head that looks something like this (don’t know how to do the computation for this, if you do please let me know, but I can ballpark it using reasoning by analogy):

Ok, but I actually think the linear assumption is insufficient. What we really want is to assume a non-linear transformation.

Why?

Because non-linear transformations allow you to describe any transformation. Say we had thousands of points on this graph, not just 3. They might bend the space in all kinds of different ways on local scales. So as I’m trying to understand this, I take the most generalized non-linear transformation as my goal.