Query regarding TM implementation

I am a beginner in HTM and I looked at the HTM school video on TM. I was trying to understand the pseudocode of the TM implementation from the BAMI book. But I have difficulty in understanding since the terminologies used there are quite new to me (considering that I am not from biology background). So, here are my questions:

1. The BAMI book mentions this in TM section: Every cell has many distal dendrite segments. If the sum of the active synapses on a distal segment exceeds a threshold, then the associated cell enters the predicted state. Since there are multiple distal dendrite segments per cell, a cell’s predictive state is the logical OR operation of several constituent threshold detectors. - My understanding is that every cell in a column has one-to-one connection with other cells in the same layer. But the statement says each cell has multiple segments which inturn might connect to different cells. I am confused with this statement. Please explain whats dendrite segments, synapses with the context from HTM school video.
  2. Is the SDR union concept used in TM? If so, can you tell me in which part of the algorithm?
  3. I also looked at the pseudocode of TM in BAMI book. I dont understand these terms: activeSegments, matchingSegments, numActivePotentialSynapses, LEARNING_THRESHOLD. I dont understand what synapses mean here (whether its one-on-connection from one cell to another in the same layer or something else) because of my confusion in question 1.

Other set of questions I had after studying TM:

1. How does the brain decode these predicted neuron signals from TM to say a str value (incase of prediction of next word for example)?
  2. What is the effect of having multiple active cells per mini-column at every timestep in TM? Does it make the predictions robust?
  3. Please point me towards the biological terminologies to learn to understand the TM pseudocode.