Sharing an analogy I consider interesting

I’m here to share with you an analogy that came to my mind recently. It might be inaccurate or even wrong in any or all of it’s aspects but though it might not be useful I still consider it interesting enough to share. Besides, I’m a programmer, not a neuroscientist, and I lack that enormous amount of knowledge on the topic that you in Numenta have, so I can’t evaluate this analogy myself. With that said, below I present an analogy between early monocellular creatures and cortical hypercolumns and speculate about potential consequences of such a perspective.

The analogy came to my mind when I was reading the “Resynthesizing behavior through phylogenetic refinement” paper by Paul Сisek.

In the paper, among other things, author describes an early monocellular creature. It has some internal chemical state, some set of chemical sensors on it’s membrane and some mechanism to perform actions (for example, move or eat). Internal state changes in time, affected by both chemical sensors on the membrane and creature’s metabolism. There is a range of internal states that are “desirable” for a creature. When internal state leaves this range, action mechanism activates and the action is performed to eliminate the conditions that motivated the action. Author calls conditions that motivate actions an “impetus”.

We can look on such a creature from two perspectives:

From the observer’s point of view, creature senses it’s environment, moves, gets hungry and eats.