TemporalAnomaly detection questions

Hello NuPIC community,

I’m trying to build an anomaly detection application based on NuPIC for Prometheus and have a few questions regarding this. I’m kind of new to NuPIC so I’m sorry if my questions seem trivial :slight_smile:

• I’ll run TemporalAnomaly detection of a single scalar. I stumbled upon the “best single metric anomaly params” modelParams, and also getScalarMetricWithTimeOfDayAnomalyParams. My question is, how important are the min/max values? Let’s say I take a few days data and feed that as the min/max to generate the resolution. What happens if the actual value exceeds the maximum/minimum? Or is what really important here is the resolution?

• How important is the resolution? What happens if I let it use the default 0.001? Will I get many false positives for metrics that don’t match this resolution?

• Regarding the timestamp parameters. Does it need to be in consistent intervals? Can it handle small shifts between the provided data points?

• Between application restarts I save the models I currently have. It’s a bit lengthy and reaches tens of megabytes per metric. I have a couple of questions about this. Can I reduce the size before saving? Or maybe I don’t need to save them at all? For example, it’s possible to query all the data points of the last 24 hours (10 second interval) and continue from there. Does reusing (save/load) the model so that it learns weeks/months of data would improve the anomaly detection?

2 Likes

Here’s a quick answer to get you started.