Time & SDR'S & Structures

Hi, I am new to HTM and Nupic, so be gentle with me,
I have several questions

1. I have a time-stamp represent by a double.
    for example : 0.0005->0.0007->0.0008 etc’
    With which SDR I need to work? , and how my time stamp will represent?
  2. If I have an attribute with short values, how you recommended to represent him? (n & w),
    recommended SDR’s converter?
  3. When I work with other temporal networks (like LSTM etc’), I need to define the network structure like the number of layers, the number of neurons in every layers etc’, where I can find examples and good information about this issue for HTM.
  4. May you have any tutorial about the different SDR’s, how and when to use?

MAK

2 Likes
  1. A double could represent a timestamp in so many ways. What granularity of time are you trying to capture in your encoding? First you have to convert your doubles into a datetime, then convert that into a binary representation based upon what time semantics you want to encode. Have you see the datetime encoding episode of HTM School?
  2. Use a scalar encoder (By the way, you are saying things like “which SDR I need to work” and “recommended SDR’s converter”. I think the word you are looking for is encoder. You are talking about encoding scalar values into binary format so an HTM can process it. We call this encoding.)
  3. There is no hierarchy in HTM for anomaly detection today. When you talk about LSTM “layers” you are talking about layers in a deep learning hierarchy .There is none in this setup. All of today’s HTM anomaly detection capabilities are based on sequence memory happening in one layer of neocortex.
  4. Watch HTM School, there are several videos on SDRs and encoders.

Hii ,
First , thanks for your answers .