Help with understanding some of the fundamentals

Hi Guys,

HTM.Java Newbie here. I have been reading up and playing with the code for about 6 months now.
I have a setup with a bunch of Raspberry Pis (running Ubuntu Mate 16) and ingest the produced data streams into Flink for processing in HTM.java (Via SQS. Kinesis, Kafka -what have you).

I’m primarily interested in detecting anomalies on the data streams produced by the RPI (Raspberry PI) instances the and working on building an unsupervised system to detect anomalies in the streams.

Please excuse my naive questions…

1. Can I model a “Network” to be the corresponding object for an RPI instance while individual regions within the network observe in observe one metric stream and provide anomalies
    For e.g Network (N1) has multiple Regions (R0—Rn), R1 --> Temperature, R2 --> Pressure etc ?
  2. Is this a viable solution
  3. Once a Network has been “started” can we add regions dynamically?
  4. What does “connecting” regions actually do? What is the purpose of “connecting” regions?
  5. If I have a multiple field stream and ( from reading up on the many forums there are a limitation to the fields that we can input) is there a way to mark fields not to be used for detection?
  6. What is the minus required setup for Anomaly Detection in such a scenario?

Appreciate your help

Thanks,
Madhan

1 Like

Hi Madhan,

Sorry for the delayed response, I’m on vacation right now (until the 18th), and not checking the forums all that frequently. Let me attempt to answer some of your questions…

First, I would use a Network consisting of 1 Region and 1 Layer. Multiples of those are an attempt to make room for the porting of later hierarchy development Numenta may engage in at some point in the future. But to answer your question, “connecting” regions and layers sets up a chain of sequential grouped algorithms and tells the infrastructure what order to put the constructs in.