Mini column in spatial pooler, meaning

Hello,

I seen all the episodes in HTM school and read most of the BAMI book (very quality information source).

I still not understand what define the number of cells in each column in the spatial pooler?

If I increase the number of the cells in the spatial pooler how this influence on my sequence recognition ability ? (More cells mean longest sequence pattern recognition ?)

Thanks

Not an expert here, however I’m currently studying nupic. So far, I didn’t see any use of cells per column in the spatial pooler. And from what I can remember the cells per column has something to do with contextual meaning in the TM.

3 Likes

The TM use the cells in the column for creating temporal connection between sequence of the spatial pooler columns , but still , what define the number of cells in each column, and how different number of cells influence on the model accurate ?

1 Like

More cells in a minicolumn give more capacity for sequence storage. But we never use more than 32 (and even that is overkill in most cases). We’re using less in current experiments.

5 Likes

In the observed biological model the number of cells in a mini-column is somewhere around 100.
Considering the usual parsimony of nature I would consider this an upper limit.
If nature needed more there would be more.

5 Likes

Why we limted the number of cells in each column to 32 ?

I would think there are at least two main reasons for this:
The combinatorial space grows very quickly for every added mini-column and, with sparse activations, more is won with an increase in the number of mini-columns than having more neurons per mini-column.

It’s convenient to stick to a size that offers efficient packing of bits and simple operations when it comes to generating overlaps and counting active neurons.

5 Likes

We did not get any prediction accuracy benefit from more cells, and having more cells is costly for performance time.

4 Likes