Optimization algorithm of the brain

Assuming human beings at their most basic are driven by the need to reduce the level of surprise in the world, meaning prediction error, and that the physical translation of that is a mechanism to build a model of the world whose convergence engine is the minimization of the energy spent in surprises, that the brain is that model and that its plasticity is the mechanism to reach the lowest average energy consumption in time, what would be, from all the optimization algorithms out there, the one that would best model computationally the dynamics of neuronal plasticity ? Did nature decide to implement gradient descent ? Seems “too mathematical”!

Thank you!

2 Likes

I disagree with the assumption that surprises are by nature a bad thing and should be avoided.

1 Like

If I understand your question right I think you’ve come to the right place! Disclaimer I’m not a neuroscience expert by any means, but I think this concept of plasticity is something that HTM does completely differently than any other neural network I’d come across (as in HTM actually does it).

I’m not sure how much of the HTM algorithms you’ve gone through, but I think the model of dynamics you speak of is what the Temporal Memory is doing. If you haven’t already I’d highly recommend the HTM School videos on youtube. There are 2 so far on Temporal Memory, to me the theory behind the TM is the closest answer to your question (or at least coolest in my opinion).

TM Episode 1:

TM Episode 2:

If you want to get a nice clear visual overview of HTM theory and how the algorithms work I’d say watch all the episodes

1 Like

In the context of the Bayesian Brain hypothesis, “Surprises” do not have an emotional valence. There is no assumption that they are “bad” or “good” or that should be “avoided” or “welcomed”. Mathematically, they are just a way of formulating the loss function. One can think of this as an alternative to “Rules”: minimising Surprise = learning a Rule.