Random question about point neurons vs biological ones

Question:

I was watching a YouTube video and they went over the history of Neural networks. Anyway one of the early networks (I believed it had 100s of neurons in the network maybe thousands ) was able to identify photos of different breeds of dogs more accurately then a human could. So my question is why is that? Why would a few 100/1000 point neurons out perform a human brain that has millions of Pyramid neurons?

Here are some guesses.

• People don’t know dog breeds very well. I can identify the breed of like 1 in 20 dogs I see. I could get that number much higher if I studied for a week.
  • Dog breeds are a very limited thing. I think if the network needed to identify the object (maybe a cat or coffee cup), humans would’ve done much better back then.
  • Dog breeds have distinct colors and color / texture patterns. I think neural networks are good at that low level detail kind of thing, especially for a very limited slice of the real world.
  • We don’t directly sense pixels. It depends on the eye’s relative position and rotation (6 coordinates), plus other stuff like lighting, pupil dilation, lens focus.
  • The brain works differently. Point neurons can just recognize patterns, but brain neurons do more specialized functions to handle stuff like self-movement from motor output.
3 Likes

We do, on the level of rods and cones. They just don’t stay “unmixed” after that. That low-level detail simply doesn’t get to be acted on when we test humans.

Before responding further it would be good to have more precise numbers.
“believed” “100s… maybe 1000s” ? More precisely how many?
“different” breeds of dogs? how many different breeds?
“few 100/1000” point neurons – a few 100… or a few 1000? or…?

I meant when you look at a pixel on a screen, it’s warped etc. whereas whatever a neural network gets is much simpler, so we need more neurons to identify basic details.

20220509_232022