Trying to implement HTM theory using Julia

Hello,
I am new to HTM community. I think its awesome and I would like to build an implementation that is as close to the biological model as possible, from the ground up. I am still thinking about how to code individual aspects and what data structures and abstractions to use to carry out the algorithms and individual processes. Can you please give me some guidelines or suggestions?

The choice of language is Julia owing to its variety of data structures, performance and memory optimisations and also because this would be a great way to learn Julia.

I don’t want to take a look at the NuPIC repo and try to translate the code to Julia. That’s not what I am really after.
Instead I would like to grasp a few starting points and then build up by trail and error, while learning and experimenting with the overall theory. For example, allowing reinforcement learning abilities easily while building the core implementation.

Much appreciated.

2 Likes

I also learned HTM by working through my own implementation and asking questions from the community when I reached points that I didn’t understand (versus jumping to NuPIC for the answers immediately). I have to say that I am glad I went this route, because I feel much more comfortable with applying and adapting the core concepts from HTM (versus simply understanding how to use it for more traditional problems)

My strategy was to first watch every video by Numenta that I could find (some of Jeff’s talks in particular I watched several times), before I ever wrote a line of code. I then spent some weeks mulling the theory around in my head and figuring out where I knew I had obvious gaps in my understanding. I then began posting questions on the forum to help fill the gaps in my understanding.