What is transmitted up the heirarchy?

I am just getting started learning HTM theory (computer science background, no biology expertise). I have watched the videos on the HTM Open Source, Numenta, and various university channels to try and gain a good initial grasp of the theory before diving into the source code (I actually got hooked after accidentally stumbling across a video from 2010 on the UBC channel).

So that is where I am at now in the learning process. For the most part the theory is making a great deal of sense to me. However, there is one of the foundational points that I am struggling a little with though. I feel like it is a key component of the theory, so would like to try and comprehend it a little better before I dive into the code. This is probably a dumb question, so I apologize in advance :blush:

In the hierarchy elements of the HTM theory, it is mentioned in numerous videos that the output of the lower levels in the hierarchy becomes the input to the higher levels. However, from my limited initial understanding, it seems that the output is simply a rearrangement of the input bits (with the loss of some percentage of them). To me, the predictive states seem more significant than the output. I feel like I am missing an important point. Maybe this is because the focus of these introductions is primarily dealing with layer 2/3, and the answer deals with the other layers?

BTW, I did read the “H is for Hierarchy…” thread, but my question is more conceptual/ theoretical (definitely not asking where H is implemented in the new source). Also, sorry if there is already a thread about this (I didn’t see one, but I can be blind from time to time :smiley:)

3 Likes