Feeding HTM with PCA output ! Looks Like "I'm Groot"

Me and one of my colleagues argued about if we could feed the HTM model with PCA’s components or not.

Since PCA is a transformation of some correlated variables and it can represent more than one variable at the same time.

Simply, I answered him, this is like “I’m Groot” from Guardians of the Galaxy movie, that no way you can tell the meaning of a word in whatever context if every word you are using can express so many meanings.

In another way, the HTM at each step will have so many predictions enough to get it confused which won’t be accurate at all.

I just want to make sure if I thought about this the correct way or not, since I’m new to it.

1 Like

Can you link to more information about “PCA”?

This video explains PCA (Principal Component Analysis) in a good way

1 Like

It seems like PCA output is an approximation and that there is a potentially huge amount of data loss, especially as you add dimensions. So I’m not sure how well HTM would do with it. I think it would largely depend on the quality of the principle component analysis. It certainly will not perform as well as directly processing each dimensional datum with an HTM model.

1 Like

I would add to that, it also depends on what exactly you would be using HTM to predict. If you were simply trying to classify the cell type based on the PC1 and PC2 values, that might be possible after enough training. Training would involve using the points on the graph as “on” bits for the SP (topology enabled), and then add a running average classifier to the winning minicolumns (skipping TM in this case). On the other hand, you could probably do that a lot easier with some simple geometry :slight_smile:

If you mean by TM the (Temporal Memory or Temporal Pooler), then having TM is crucial in our model as we are trying to build HTM model for anomaly detection.

So if that is the case, do you agree that PCA is not applicable for such a model that requires TM?