Handling Multiple Fields with Hierarchy (?)

Hi Numenta and community! I’m a grad student working on HTM interested in making a novel contribution to the algorithm, and I thought I’d seek feedback from those who know best to help determine what openings there are and what angles I could take. One particular issue I’m interested in is that of handling multiple input streams. In the video ‘Multiple Fields in NuPic’, Subutai mentions the current limitation of the algorithm to handle only as many as 5 streams or so.

I’d like to eventually be able to feed any number of data streams into the algorithm, for it to determine which fields play important roles in what circumstances and in what combinations. My basic intuition about this issue in how its handled by humans is that we, when given a large number of input streams, would choose to focus in on some subset based on what we know to be important, and the more experience we have the more we come to distinguish which fields and combinations thereof have what meanings in what contexts.

It seems to me that the current method of handling multiple fields, of feeding the SDR’s representing each field all into one HTM region (if I understand this correctly) does not scale well since the SDR’s eventually become saturated with ON bits and they lose their sparsity (hence the limit of ~5 fields in the current implementation). So I have the thought of giving each field its own region, and then using hierarchy in some way to learn the interactions between the different fields in different scenarios as they unfold over time.