HTM and DDoS Attack detection

Hi all, i am planning on developing a DDoS attack detection model from network traffic, first is it possible to use HTM for this kind of problem as a DDoS attack can be detected using several properties of the network traffic.

Thank You

3 Likes

Hi ism1n! Welcome to the forum.

If you want a ready to deploy solution. Get Grok. If not, you can find anomaly traffics using HTM (Traffic not showing up or too much traffic). The beauty of HTM is that it learns while inference. So you don’t need to update your model every time when there’s a growth.

4 Likes

Hi Marty,

Thanks for the reply. I did check out Grok and it is a good product. I am currently a research student and considering to use HTM framework in my research to model the said problem.

Thanks again

2 Likes

Welcome @osm1n and very cool application! If you’d like any helping thinking through how to formulate the problem for HTM we’d be glad to, and I for one am really curious how well your system performs at detection.

1 Like

What kind of dataset your are using for ddos attack detection?
Thanks

1 Like

That will be great and i will really appreciate that. The plan is to use a dataset and a stream network traffic coming from connected devices for online detection of the attacks. Then compare the performance of HTM against other unsupervised techniques used to solve these kinds of attacks.

Thank You

1 Like

I am currently looking at this dataset here

I have tried using the dataset with HTM studio but seems like it wont work as its a multivariate dataset. I am not sure though.

1 Like

Would you care to specify which file(s) in which folder(s) you’re referring to? I have my own home made sort of HTM studio for multivariate data, if you know when the real attack(s) occurred I could run it through and evaluate the anomalies that way.

2 Likes

Awesome. Any of these files with the entire features here

Afterwards this file with the 10 best final features