Hypothesis for distal apical dendrite (also sensory-motor inference)

Hello HTM experimenters,

I have come up with a new hypothesis for sensory-motor inference. This hypothesis has two parts: one of apical dendrites and the other of the large scale structure/organization of the neural network. For both parts I will first state it and then explain it in detail. I think that this theory is biologically plausible, but I should say that my background is in computer algorithms. I am currently working to implement and test this hypothesis.

Apical Dendrites
My theory is that apical dendrites are used to control HTMs. Apical dendrites have a small multiplicative effect on the proximal excitement, which max’s out at something like %2. Apical dendrites have a different learning rule than proximal and basal dendrites; instead of learning when the input predicts the post-synaptic neurons activation, the post-synaptic neurons activation predicts the input’s activation. This is the difference between P->Q and Q->P.

The pre-synaptic apical input is called the focus set (and it is of course an SDR). The goal is for the HTM to output one of the things in the focus set if one is present. Otherwise ignore the focus mechanism and output the most prominent features (which is what HTM’s normally do). This should not cause columns to activate if originally they were not near activating; this is why the effect of apical dendrites is capped at 2%. In a sentence, apical dendrites select between multiple interpretations of the data.

Example effect of apical excitement:
proximal-excitement <= proximal-excitement * min(1.02, 1 + alpha * apical-excitement)
This exact formula is guesswork, this is just a hypothesis.

Rational