Inhibition Mechanisms in Spatial Pooling

Hi all,
I’m a newbie in HTM and spartial pooling. As far as I know, there’re two Inhibition mechanisms in Spartial pooling: Global and Local Column Inhibition. I have a question that is there any other inhibition mechanism that can be used in Spartial Pooling? Thank you in advanced!

Inhibition occurs because only the top k minicolumns are activated during spatial pooling. We call this a competition between all the minicolumns in a neighborhood. If the neighborhoods are many and distributed throughout the layer, this is local inhibition. It takes more compute, is more complex, and assumes topology in the input data. If there is only one neighborhood, that means all the minicolumns compete against each other, and this is global inhibition.

Your question doesn’t quite make sense to me, but you can change the size of the column neighborhoods to get a spectrum of inhibitory behavior between global and extremely local.

2 Likes

Hi rhyolight,
thank you for your reply, do you have any documentation which describes in detail how local inhibition can choose the winner column? Thank you in advanced.

I guess this paper will help you, actually I didn’t read it yet but I think it’s very interesting, it talks about spatial pooler.
https://sci-hub.tw/10.1109/tetci.2018.2850314

There is also the Numenta’s biological and machine intelligence documentation (BAMI). It’s got a detailed explanation of the Spatial Pooler’s algorithm including it inhibition phase.

2 Likes

Thank you all, I’m reading the pseudo code of inhibition:

for c in columns
    minLocalActivity = kthScore(neighbors(c), numActiveColumnsPerInhArea)

if overlap(c) > stimulusThreshold and overlap(c) ≥ minLocalActivity then

activeColumns(t).append(c)

with the explanation:

The inhibition logic will ensure that at most
numActiveColumnsPerInhArea columns become active in each local inhibition area. For example, if