Once the nupic has seen an anomaly, why doesn't it show it again as an anomalous behaviour?Shouldn't it throw an error every time it sees the same anomaly?

Hi everyone,

I am new to nupic and I am using it to detect anomaly in ECG data.My main target is to detect arrhythmia.I am currently trying nupic’s examples - one hot gym prediction/anomaly and sine prediction.
I was able to successfully implement them on my machine.

I was wondering, If I try ECG data using the same principles as mentioned in One Hot Gym example, it will show an anomaly for the first time it sees it. After few time intervals, it will learn it as a normal behaviour of ECG and will not show it the next time.

Suppose I have to detect a distorted QRS complex. Given the current learning algorithm, it will detect few instances of the anomalies after which, things will be normal for the system.

Is my understanding correct? Please clear this doubt.

Thanks.

2 Likes

Yes, it will learn that re-occurring anomalies are no longer anomalies, just like your brain does. If you don’t want this to happen, you can disable learning once your model has learned the patterns you want it to recognize. Then as it sees new anomalies occurring over and over it will always flag them as anomalous.

2 Likes

You make a good point. It should be possible to detect that some event is anomalous in the sense that it is rare or out of context, even though that event may be recognised in a global sense.

Events that are rare enough may continue to be flagged as anomalies, depending on the distal punishment rate (for unfulfilled predictions).

Turning off learning has a cost in not adapting to gradual changes. On the other hand, you might want to detect accumulated gradual changes.

2 Likes

@rhyolight Sir, Thanks so much for the reply.This makes sense in theory.I recently read about this in HTM White paper.Under Chapter 1, heading “Learning” -