Programming Environment Options

Hey all,
I’ve been choosing the right language to design my new implementation of HTM around for the past few weeks. I have a fair set of diagrams to lay out the whole project, and as I get more and more demands/specifications I’m trying to pin down the best way to develop things.

My current suggestion is to avoid Java and Python in favor of Common LISP for its lightweight memory operations (including bit vectors) - though I’m not sure if this is a simulated effect or not - and to use CUDA to use (read: abuse) the GPU to handle the heavy parallelism in the regions.

I’m really new to development, having only worked with large projects for the last year. I don’t know the ins and outs of choosing a language. But I do enjoy design, and with a solid blueprint I feel capable of generating a strong machine learning package for computers instead of for software.

So, what do you think of using LISP and CUDA together instead of the current languages? Will HTM written in C remain a dominant force or would there be benefits to moving in a different direction?
Thanks,
Sam Gallagher

If you’re going to be writing an HTM in LISP, you would definitely check out @floybix’s Comportex, written in clojure.

1 Like

Matt,
There is little point to writing something that has been written! Thanks for the great link. I’m diving in and seeing what it’s like.
Sam Gallagher

1 Like

Don’t forget the amazing visualizations provided by Sanity!

1 Like

Hi Sam. It’s cool that you’re thinking about design of HTM systems. I’d be happy to chat about that, perhaps privately.

I’d advise against putting much work into optimisation (as I imagine CUDA would involve) because the theory and algorithms are still not worked out. The current state of HTM can’t do much of real value so there’s little point in making it go faster. One reason I like Lisp here is that its expressivity allows rapid experimentation with different algorithms.