Teach a machine how to code

I have this project of a machine that would learn how to code from a Stackoverflow dataset.

I recently came across HTM, I’m still learning so I’m not sure I understand everything but I wanted to say hi to see if there were other people working on similar pojects and if HTM could be of any use for the matter.

4 Likes

Hi, your project sounds really interesting. I am curious to know a little more detail – there are a lot of directions you could go. For example, you could design utilities that learn proper syntax for various programming languages, identify problems like potential memory leaks, and so-on. Or the direction might be language recognition that can classify common questions on SO and generate simple code snippets that answer the questions. Another possible direction might be a utility for porting code from one language to another. A really lofty idea might be a system that has a goal-oriented capability and writes its own unique code to try and achieve its goals.

There are certainly uses for HTM concepts in any of the above. I think narrowing the focus of the project to specific goals will probably help to identify components of the problem where HTM concepts will be most useful, or where other algorithms may fit better.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply. I am still experimenting, and it’s mostly at the paper phase.

As naive as it may sound, I am trying to teach a machine common sense in reflexion processes, so that it could help us find answers to universe’s biggest questions.
My conviction is that human beings uploaded enough knowledge online for a machine to map it, and with the right “intelligence” to connect the right nodes and provide solutions to questions we’re asking ourselves, say “what is consciousness?”.