Thermodynamic Computing: Better than Quantum? | Guillaume Verdon and Trevor McCourt, Extropic

1 Like

Any kind of summary or reference to know whether it is worth 1 hour of time?
Because when you consider the current stage of “quantum” any computing is better than it.

1 Like

They agree with you and they have a prototype chip.
And without being sure about what the prototype hardware and software they have developed, and without being an insider or expert I agree with them and you about the whimpering future of the quantum computer hypers.

1 Like

Since we all agree quantum is trash, let’s stick to the matter:

What “thermodynamic computing” means? What does it does and how? I won’t watch an hour video if it doesn’t start with answering these basic questions.
An engineering/science podcast shouldn’t be a game-of-thrones mystery series “wait till you see who wins the battle” with “click like and subscribe before you-re too bored to resist any longer!”

1 Like

As far as I can tell: They’re making an AI accelerator chip that uses analog physics (as opposed to digital transistors).

Their device will only be capable of running energy-based models.

2 Likes

On quantum computers:

Timestamp: 1:03:50