Looking for research directions (Just started an HTM internship at Berkeley Labs)

Hi all, I’m a PhD student in applied math. I’ve done research in computational neuroscience and got interested in theories of brain computation. (I made an assembly calculus Julia package.)

I’ve been hired to work with Dipak Ghosal. His group has used HTM to predict web traffic patterns. The group is interested in understanding and developing the theory behind HTM in addition to working on applications relevant to the DOE.

I’ve been reading papers and trying to see where there is room to contribute. I’m not sure if this is correct but it almost looks like Numenta has moved on from HTM and is focused on other algorithms.

I’ve also seen papers suggesting that LSTM is better than HTM on stationary time series. This one seems quite comprehensive. These results, while disappointing, don’t stop me from wanting to study HTM. I can appreciate how HTM attempts to give a plausible framework for brain computation and I believe that is a very important task.

I was very impressed with the 2017 Spacial Pooler paper. The function of all components of the algorithm were explored and verified in detail. A lot of work was done to make sure that the algorithm was doing what the researchers thought it was doing. And it had lots of claims at biological plausibility.

I would love to hear your opinions about HTM compared to other AI or brain computation algorithms, directions that you are excited about and directions that you feel have been explored already. (Oh, and feel free to point me to some relevant threads.)

4 Likes

Given your background I assume you have looked into ART (from Grossberg). Why do you prefer HTM over ART ? I somewhat went the other direction, started out interested in HTM and then got interested in computational nueroscience and then found ART. Currently an ART based system is leading the Numenta anomaly benchmark (NAB).