[OPINION] Nupic is an abandoned project

HI.

Some years ago I studied deep learning. There were good books, several frameworks and plenty of trained neural networks for free. In other words, there is interest that people learn to use deep learning.

On the other hand, HTM which seems much powerful than deep learning doesn’t have an updated framework with proper working examples.

Besides, the Corticol.io’s white paper is a joke. It’s just an ad.

So, imho, numenta is interested in creating companies that use HTM but doesn’t want peopple and researchers to use it.

I was very excited about HTM but now I am very disappointed with the lack of resources to develop good AI tools.

Hi @educob ,

There’s a thread that explains the reason that NuPIC was put into maintenance mode back in 2017: NuPIC 1.0 has been released

HTM clearly has massive potential given the capabilities of human intelligence, but there’s more research ahead and that’s where Numenta’s effort is focused.

Hello educob,

Nupic was open source and so after the old maintainers of it (Numenta) lost interest the “community-fork” of nupic started up. We got together and made a lot of long needed improvements, and then rebranded it as “htm.core” so that people would not confuse the two (now quite different) code bases.

There are also several other good HTM implementations, which have been posted on this forum from time to time.

3 Likes

I believe a lot of it has to do with the name “hierarchical temporal memory” its kindof a mouthful and the opposite of catchy, I dont know why neuroscientists love so much the word “hierarchical”.

I’m also sorta bad at naming things, but I’d have called it something else, maybe “wide learning” or maybe “cortical storage”

2 Likes